What is the difference between leaving and deleting a LastPass Families account?
As a Family Member or Family Manager, you can leave a LastPass Families account. However, only Family Owners can delete a LastPass Families account.
Leaving a LastPass Families account
If you decide to leave a LastPass Families account (as a Family Member or Family Manager), please keep in mind the following:
- Your account status will revert to a LastPass Free plan, unless you upgrade to a Premium, Teams, or a business plan tier (see pricing and features)
- You will no longer have access to shared folders that were shared with you or the items in those shared folders
- Any folders that you shared will no longer be accessible to Family Members
- All passwords, notes, and items in your Vault will remain
- Any emergency access contacts that you set up will remain
Deleting a LastPass Families account
If you delete a LastPass Families account (as a Family Owner), keep in mind:
- Your account is affected in the same ways as leaving a LastPass Families account (listed above)
- All existing Family Member and Manager accounts (including yours) will downgrade to LastPass Free accounts (unless you choose to upgrade to a Premium, Teams, or a business plan tier (see pricing and features)
- All shared folders that contain items will be migrated to your LastPass Free account and converted to standard (non-shared) folders.