HELP FILE

Manage LastPass Families Shared Folders

With LastPass Families, you can share items from your Vault (passwords, payment cards, secure notes, etc.) by creating shared folders so they can easily be shared with family members – all while keeping personal items separate in your private Vault. Items can be moved into a shared folder or moved out; you can also manage family members that can access your shared folders, convert a standard folder to shared, delete and/or purge a shared folder, and learn more about hidden passwords for items within shared folders.

Shared folders are also supported in LastPass Teams and Enterprise and Identity accounts. To learn more about sharing individual items, please see Use the Sharing Center.

Create a shared folder

You can create shared folders to share items within it with other family members.

Note:  You cannot share a folder with any LastPass users outside of your LastPass Families account – you can only share with other family members within your own account.
  1. Log in to LastPass and access your Vault by doing either of the following:
    • In your web browser toolbar, click the LastPass icon LastPass then click Open My Vault.
    • Go to https://lastpass.com/?ac=1 and log in with your username and Master Password.
  2. Select Sharing Center in the left navigation.
  3. Click the Manage Shared Folders tab at the top, then click the Add icon for Add Shared Folder.

  4. Create a name for your shared folder, then use the drop-down menu to select the specific permissions for each family member on your LastPass Families account. If desired, check the box to enable the Email invited family members option so that those members (who have not yet activated their account) will be notified of their permissions once activated.
  5. Click Add when finished.
  6. Your new shared folder now appears within the Manage Shared Folders tab in the Sharing Center, as well as within your Vault view.

    Shared folder permissions

Move items into a shared folder

You can move items from your Vault into a shared folder, or transfer items from one folder into a shared folder in various ways.

Please be aware of the following:
  • You are unable to move items that have been individually shared with you to your own shared folder.
  • When you move an item to a shared folder, an additional "backup" copy of the shared item is automatically moved to your Deleted Items folder and stored there for up to 30 days. This is a precautionary measure so that you can restore the item from the "backup" copy in your Deleted Items folder in case either you can no longer locate the shared item or an issue occurs in an attempt to share that item. Learn how to restore deleted items.

Drag-and-drop to move

  1. While logged in to your LastPass Vault, select your item type in the left navigation.
  2. Locate your desired item, then click on it and drag it to your desired folder.

    Tip: If you want to move multiple items at once, enable the checkbox in the upper-right corner of each, then click on 1 of the selected items and drag to your desired folder, which will move all selected items.

  3. When prompted, click Yes to confirm that you want to move the item(s).

Right-click to move

  1. While logged in to your LastPass Vault, select your item type in the left navigation.
  2. Locate your desired item, then right-click on it and select Move to folder then select your desired shared folder.

    Tip: If you want to move multiple items at once, enable the checkbox in the upper-right corner of each, then right-click on 1 of the selected items and select Move to folder, then select your desired shared folder.

  3. When prompted, click Yes to confirm that you want to move the item(s).

Use the Action menu to move

  1. While logged in to your LastPass Vault, select your item type in the left navigation.
  2. Locate your desired item, then right-click on it and select Move to folder then select your desired shared folder.
  3. Click the Actions drop-down menu and select Organize or Move to Folder, then select your desired shared folder.
  4. When prompted, click Yes confirm that you want to move the item(s).

Edit an item entry to move

You can also move an item to a shared folder when you are editing it. For more information, please see Manage Your Sites or Manage Your Secure Notes.

Move items out of a shared folder

If you move items out of a shared folder (and into a standard folder or your Vault), any user with whom those items have been shared will no longer have access to them.

Note:  If you are deleting your LastPass Families account, you are required to move all items out of your shared folders before your account can be closed.
  1. In your LastPass Vault, click your desired item type in the left navigation.
  2. Select and move your desired item(s) using the drag-and-drop, right-click, Action menu, or edit method listed above in the previous sections.
  3. Select your desired standard folder (the folder name will not begin with "Shared") or select (none) to send the item(s) to your Vault.
  4. When prompted with a message that others will lose access to these shared items, click Yes to proceed.

Manage family members on a shared folder

Once you have created a shared folder, hover over it and click Manage. You can see each family member in your account, and set their permissions for that shared folder. You can choose from the following access permissions:

  • Administrator: Family members can edit sites in shared folder and invite others to the folder.
  • Read only access: Family members can view items in the shared folder, but are unable to edit or invite others.
  • No access: Family members do not have access to any items in this shared folder.

Delete a shared folder

  1. From within your Vault, select Sharing Center in the left navigation.
  2. Select the Manage Shared Folders tab.
  3. Locate your desired shared folder, then click the Delete icon in the right navigation.
  4. When prompted, click Yes to confirm.
    Your shared folder has now been moved to your Deleted Items.

Best practices for when deleting a shared folder

  1. Move all items out of your shared folder into a standard (non-shared) folder (learn how above).
  2. Remove all assigned users from the shared folder (learn how above).
  3. Delete the (now empty) shared folder, as follows:
    1. Select Sharing Center in the left navigation.
    2. Select the Manage Shared Folders tab.
    3. Click the Delete icon .
    4. Click Yes to confirm.

Purge a deleted shared folder

  1. From within your Vault, select Sharing Center in the left navigation.
  2. Select the Manage Shared Folders tab.
  3.  Check the box to enable the View Deleted Shared Folders option.
  4. Click the Purge icon .
  5. Click Yes to confirm.
    Your shared folder has now been moved to your Deleted Items.

Convert a folder to a shared folder

Note:

This feature is for LastPass Families users only.

If you have organized your sites and/or secure notes by using standard folders, you can easily convert any folder to a shared folder as follows:
  1. In your LastPass Vault, click your desired item type in the left navigation.
  2. Right-click on your desired folder, then select Share.

  3. Create a name for your shared folder, then use the drop-down menu to select specific permissions for each family member on your LastPass Families account.

    Tip: You can check the box to enable the Email invited family members option so that those members (who have not yet activated their account) will be notified of their permissions once their account is activated.

  4. Click Add when finished.

    Shared folder permissions

    Your new shared folder now appears within your Manage Shared Folders tab within the Sharing Center, as well as the passwords section in the left navigation.