HELP FILE

Leave LastPass Families

When you are a Family Manager or Member and leave or close a LastPass Families account, you will no longer have access to shared folders that were shared with you or the items in those shared folders. Any folders that you shared will no longer be accessible to family members. All passwords, notes, and items in your Vault will remain there, and your account status will revert to Free, unless you upgrade to Premium. Any emergency access contacts that you set up will remain set up when you leave the family.

Note: Once you create a LastPass Families account, you are both the Family Manager and Family Owner. As the Family Owner, this means another Family Manager cannot remove your admin rights (i.e., downgrade your role to be a family member) or remove you from the account.

Topics in this article:

Leave a LastPass Families account

Close a LastPass Families account

Leave a LastPass Families account

To leave a LastPass Families account as a family member or one of the Family Managers, do the following:

  1. If you have not done so, log in to LastPass.
  2. In your web browser toolbar, click the LastPass icon then click Open My Vault.
  1. Click the Expand icon in the left menu, then click Account Settings.
  2. In the "Account Information" section, click My Account.
  3. Click the Leave family button, then click Leave Family to confirm.

Close a LastPass Families account

If you are the Family Owner and want to close your LastPass Families account, do the following:

  1. If you have not done so, log in to LastPass.
  2. In your web browser toolbar, click the LastPass icon then click Open My Vault.
  1. Click the Expand icon in the left menu, then click Account Settings.
  2. In the "Account Information" section, click My Account.
  3. Click the Delete family button, then click Delete Family to confirm. You will now be downgraded to a Free User account.